Influenster Jolly Voxbox 2013 Review

Hey beauty bloggers! Wow, I haven’t blogged in FOREVER. I am so sorry – I just haven’t found the time and I was running out of ideas to blog about. But, here I am with an exciting blog post! Today I received a the Jolly Voxbox from Influenster. I am so excited I qualified and I hope I qualify for more upcoming boxes!:)

If you don’t know what Influenster is, check out their website for all the information here.

Now, let’s get started with the review!

photo 3

The first item I received in my box was the NYC New York Color HD Color Eyeshadow Trio in the color Long Beach Sands. It says the eyeshadow delivers high intensity color with a silky soft texture and the lightweight formula blends effortlessly for the ultimate smokey eye look. Is it just me or does it kind of remind me of the Wet N Wild eyeshadow trio in Walking On Eggshells? Huh.

Well, the eyeshadows are definately very silky and smooth! While swatching them, they seemed to blend easily too. These eyshadows are not very pigmented, though. I would recommend using a good primer too so the eyeshadow doesn’t fade during the day. I’m glad Influenster gave us some neutral colors because if they gave me a trio with green or purple I wouldn’t be using them as often! The first color in the trio which is a highlighter shade is a very pretty champenge color. I see myself using this shadow often in the future. It’s perfect if you want a little shimmer in your inner corners! The second color is the darkest shade in the trio and the most pigmented. I like this shadow and I’m excited to experiment with it. Once again, I wish it more pigmented and a little less sheer. I see myself using it as a natural crease color to give a little bit more definiton to my eyes. Or, if I’m going for a smokey look, I’ll definately use this! The last shadow is probably my least favorite and the least pigmented. I don’t really know what I would use it for – an eyeshadow base or a crease color? It seems too light to be a crease color and I wouldn’t use it for my lid either. But, I’m excited to try out a makeup look with this trio and maybeI’ll use it for Christmas Eve tomorrow. It’s great if you want a nice natural look and you can even darken up some of the colors by building it up and using a good primer.

photo 1

photo 2photo 3

Next I got the new Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquer. The description says it is an intense rich colour of a lipstick combined with an invincibly smooth lacquer shine. I received the shade Stargazer. At first, it appeared very metallic on my lips but after I blended it out it was a pretty shimmery champange color! I feel like this would go well with the NYC trio too! This is the perfect gloss if you have a smokey eye and want to finish your look with a natural shimmery gloss. I’m really pleased with this product and I’m going to use it quite often!

photo 1

photo 2

Next I received the Skinny Cow Candy in the flavor peanut butter creme. You get six packets of yummy chocolate, and each packet includes three little chocolates. These are perfect if you’re craving something sweet or you want a little snack. I also really like these because they are only 130 calories! Wow!

Now about the taste… I really liked them! I shared some with my family to get their opinions, too. My 9-year-old brother said it was “okay”, rating it a 5 out of 10 stars. Maybe he doesn’t like peanut butter? The rest of my family agreed it was an 8 out of 10 stars. I liked the peanut butter flavor, but I’m wondering if they have carmel ones too! But, if you don’t like chocolate or you’re allergic peanut butter, these probably aren’t your favorite in the box.

I would recommend these because they are super yummy!

 

photo 1

 

The next item in my box was the Puffs Ultra Strong & Soft To Go Tissue Pack. These are definately softer than normal tissues and are perfect for on the go! One thing I don’t like about these is the pack only comes with 10 tissues. I feel like I would use up those 10 tissues very quickly and I wish there was more in a pack. But, these are perfect right now because it seems like everyone is getting sick or catching a cold.

photo 2photo 3

 

The next item surprised me a little! The first thought I had was: Since when is ducktape a beauty product?

Well, I know someday it will come in handy and I’ll be thankful I have it! The design is cute – blue and purple cheetah/leopard print. I will definately use it when I’m hanging up a poster of a celebrity or something haha. It’s a mini roll of duct tape and the descriptive claims it tears easily by hand without curling and it conforms to uneven surfaces.

 

In the end, I am really pleased with the Jolly Voxbox! There are some really good products that I’m excited to try out. If you want to sign up for Influenster, leave a comment below with your email because I still have a few invites left!:)

I hope you all have a Merry Christmas!!

 

*disclaimer below*

I received these products complimentary for review purposes and testing purposes from Influenster.

Leave a Reply

